Year published: 15/09/2011

The East African Community Development Strategy for the period 2011/12-2015/16 outlines broad strategic goals of the East African Community as well as the specific targets to be achieved during the period.

This Strategy, the fourth one since the establishment of the East African Community, comes in the wake of successful conclusion of the 3rd Development Strategy and the onset of the EAC Common Market. Lessons and experiences emanating from the implementation of the previous Development Strategy have provided important inputs in the formulation of the fourth Development Strategy.

The broad outline of this Strategy encompasses priority projects and programmes to be implemented by 2015/16. These centre on the consolidation of the Customs Union, Common Market, the establishment of a Monetary Union and laying the foundations for the political federation plus the promotion of solid and economic infrastructure (including energy) that would support and spur economic growth in the Partner States.

We, the Heads of State of the Republic of Burundi, the Republic of Kenya, the Republic of Rwanda, the Republic of Uganda and The United Republic of Tanzania, appreciate and applaud the good work that has been undertaken by the Organs and Institutions of the Community in producing this Development Strategy.

We believe that effective implementation of the Strategy will steer the region to greater heights of regional and international competitiveness, bring about faster and robust socio-economic development and boost the welfare and prosperity of the people of East Africa. Our respective Governments are fully committed to the implementation of this Development Strategy.

Done at Arusha, Tanzania, on the 30th day of November, in the year Two Thousand and Eleven.